Unity • Respect • Compassion

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is responsible for the governance of the school. This includes the setting of the strategic direction of the school and monitoring the progress we have made towards achieving our strategic and annual goals.

2016 Board Elected members are:

PrincipalParent RepresentativeProprietors RepresentativeStaff Representative
Michelle HollyLisa Smith - ChairpersonFr Lio RotorMarie O'Leary
Marianne BrayOrille Fernando
Anna CampbellKelly Parker
Michael ChinneryAntony Vodanovich
David France

Lisa Smith ChairpersonLisa Smith – Chairperson

Email:  board@sms.school.nz

The Board has the overall responsibility for the school, including meeting certain legal obligations, financial management, supporting our Special Catholic Character, reporting to the Ministry and school community, and meeting national requirements set by the Ministry of Education.

Whilst the ultimate authority for the New Zealand school system rests with the Ministry of Education, others have key roles in the delivery of education.  Parents and caregivers, students, principals and staff are all  partners in delivering the best possible education to our young people.

Every Board must prepare and maintain a School Charter.  The purpose of a School Charter is to establish the mission, aims, objectives, directions and targets of the Board in relation to the Government’s National Education Guidelines (NEGS), National Administration Guidelines (NAGS) and the Board’s local priorities.

Training and support is available for all Board members, to ensure they have a good understanding of their responsibilities.

Minutes 30 March 2017                          Minutes 23 February 2017

Minutes 8 December 2016                     Minutes 24 November 2016

Minutes 20 October 2016                        Minutes 25 August 2016

Governance Manual 2016

Resolving Issues of Concern Policy

Issue of Concern Flow Chart